Public Education

Public Communications Awards

The CAA recognizes the importance of public journalism, institutions, and social media in disseminating and promoting Canadian archaeology. Outstanding efforts are recognized in the following categories: Writer/Producer, Professional/Institutional, and Social Media. 

Since 1985, the Canadian Archaeological Association (CAA) has presented annual awards to acknowledge outstanding contributions in communication that further insight and appreciation of Canadian Archaeology. These awards recognise contributions by journalists, film producers, professional archaeologists and institutions and are adjudicated by a committee composed of a regional representation of CAA members. CAA members are encouraged to forward materials for consideration to the Public Communications Awards Chairperson.


  1. Eligibility

    The competition for all awards is limited to items published / produced during the last calendar year (i.e., January 1st to December 31st). Individuals who are nominated do not have to be members of the CAA.

    Submissions must be written / produced in lay terms and aimed at public awareness. The following types of works are eligible:
    • Articles published in a magazine, journal, or newspaper.
    • Books, pamphlets, or other hard copy publications
    • Television / video or radio productions (including YouTube)
    • Electronic publications and websites
    • Social media sites
    • Museum exhibitions with significant written or video content

    There is no limit on the number of awards a recipient may receive, but they may only receive awards in two consecutive years.

  1. Award Categories

    There are three (3) categories of award:
    • Writer / Producer. This category includes writers, journalists, producers and others. It is aimed at persons other than professional archaeologists and their employers.
      • One (1) award will be made annually in this category. The Writer / Producer Award recipient will receive a $200 cash prize and a framed award certificate.
    • Professional / Institutional. This category includes practising archaeologists, institutions involved in carrying out archaeology (museums, government departments, universities, etc.), or individuals employed by such institutions, and public broadcasting corporations and their employees.
      • One (1) award will be made annually in this category. The Professional / Institutional Award recipients receive a framed award certificate.
    • Social Media. This category includes independent writers/producers as well as professional/institutional individuals and teams, whose focus is on the application of computer-mediated tools that allow people to create, share and exchange information. One (1) award will be made annually in this category.  The Social Media Award recipients will receive a framed award certificate. 

    The actual number of awards made in a given year will depend on the number and quality of the submissions.

  1. Format
    Submissions may be in English or French, but must be written / produced in lay terms and aimed at public awareness. Submissions must include seven (7) original copies and be forwarded to the Chairperson of the Public Awards Committee by March 15th.  If the submission is a museum exhibit, significant writting portions or video content must be presented for adjudication by the committee.
  2. Content
    Submissions must focus on some aspect of Canadian archaeology and be written in a format suitable for the general public. Articles about Canadian archaeologists conducting fieldwork / research abroad are not eligible.
  3. Nomination & Authorship
    Nomination will be accepted from current CAA memebers. Current members of the Public Communications Committee are not eligible for the awards.
  4. Notification of Award
    Winners of the Awards are notified shortly before the Association's Annual General Meeting, usually held in May. Proclamation and presentation of the Awards will take place at the General meeting.

Submission process

Please submit 7 copies of your nominated materials to the address below, along with:

  • nomination letter justifying your submission
  • name of the category in which you wish the submission to be considered
  • letter/email of permission from the nominated author/producer, if the nominator is not the nominee.

Please send your entries by March 15th to:

For information on where to send your nomination package, please contact Dr. Meaghan Peuramaki-Brown at toll-free 1-844-830-1630 or by email at Dr. Meaghan Peuramaki-Brown


Award Recipients

Read More